Recipe: Lemon and Lime Curd


Before I begin this recipe, I should just explain that I haven’t had much experience or success with preserves. I made lemon curd once at Primary school and remember it being a million times more delicious than the shop-bought stuff. (Yes I remembered how yummy it was twenty years later!). Since then I’ve made marmalade once and it was pretty much a disaster! So I was a bit apprehensive about trying a preserve again, but lemon curd did look easy and if I could make it when I was a kid I figured I could manage it now too.

I totally love curds. Lemon and lime curds are one of my favourite ever things (which is weird since I can’t abide fresh lemons or juice. Yuck!). But the issue I have with shop-bought curds is that they’re never sharp enough. They’re always too sweet. I did find some once that was quite sharp from Tesco, but even that wasn’t quite as sharp as it could be. I was determined to make my own curd as sharp as possible. And weirdly I actually managed it.

This recipe is very sharp indeed. If you like it sweeter then use a little less juice. (The recipe made enough for two full jars of curd, plus about half a jar left over).

photo(106)

Ingredients:

  • 2 large lemons
  • 2 small limes
  • 3 eggs (beaten)
  • 85g unsalted butter (diced)
  • 337g granulated sugar

Method:

Finely grate the rind from the lemons and limes and squeeze out all the juice (use a sieve to get out all the bits of flesh).

Place the rind and juice in a heatproof bowl. Stir in the eggs, then add the butter and sugar.

Place the bowl over a saucepan of gently simmering water, ensuring that the base of the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Cook, stirring constantly, until the sugar has dissolved and the butter has melted.

Continue to cook, stirring frequently, until the mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon (it takes a LONG time!).

Spoon into warmed, sterilized jars and cover the tops with waxed discs. When completely cold, put the lids on the jars and store in a cool, dark place. Use within 3 months and, once opened, store in the fridge.

3 Comments

Filed under Baking, Recipes

3 responses to “Recipe: Lemon and Lime Curd

  1. MMMMM…might try this…or get the husband to…

Comments make me happy

